QUESTIONS À UN CHAMPION

QUESTIONS À UN CHAMPION

KERRY TURNER

05 - HornQuartet_Kerry_retouch_8713 2

 

KERRY TURNER

photo by Steve Estwood

 

 

 

 

Dear Kerry, you are one of the very few American Horn players who are based in Europe. You've been studying with Maestro Hermann Baumann, did you arrive in Europe especially for that? 
Yes, I heard an LP vinyl record of Hermann Baumann playing the Weber Concertino when I was 17 years old. I was immediately enchanted and wanted to go to Europe to study the solo repertoire with him. About 4 years later, I wrote to Maestro Baumann about the possibility of coming to Germany to study with him. He was performing in Carnegie Hall in New York, where I was studying at the time. I met him in his hotel room and played a private audition. He accepted me. I received a Fulbright Scholarship and traveled to Stuttgart, where he was teaching at that time. The Summer before that I was employed in the orchestra at the AIMS Festival in Graz, Austria. There I fell in love with the European culture and lifestyle. I knew then that I really belonged here. I never regretted it. 
 
 
Going back regularly to the USA for more than 30 years, please tell us the differences you notice in the way we are doing our job as players in orchestra. 
For many years, the American brass school focused on orchestra repertoire. The standard of brass playing there is very high. They were also taught to show up at the first rehearsal already prepared. “Time is money” and all of that. The orchestras sounded quite good already on Monday morning. Back in the early 80’s and 90’s, European orchestras had a full week, 4 or 5 hours a day to prepare the program for the concert that week. They still do. So many of the musicians came to rehearsal without even looking at their music in advance. Many of the musicians had not even heard much of the orchestra repertoire. By the end of the week, the European orchestras were just as good as the American ones. It’s just that in America, it never really sounded bad and so therefore it was more fun. Up until rather recently, the main focus at music schools in Europe was on solo repertoire. This is not case any more. Students graduating from music school here are very well schooled in orchestral repertoire. 
Also, European orchestras were more advanced in the string sections. And American orchestras had spectacular brass. I noticed back in the 90’s that American orchestra string sections began comparing themselves with European sections. And European brass sections began comparing themselves with American brass sections. The result is that both continents have fantastic string and brass sections. On a negative note, I have noticed that American orchestras have become so obsessed with precision and perfection, that they very often lack style and pizazz. They sound a little bit like robot orchestras. Europe shows a small tendency to do the same thing. I hope the European orchestras do not forget their musical style and heritage. 
 
 
You have the speciality to be also a composer, is this passion started as soon as your attraction for the horn? 
I think I was a composer before I was a horn player. I began composing at the age of 10. I didn’t really begin playing the horn until around 12. In High School I had many interests. But I composed a lot of music and this is what attracted the attention of the music teachers. There were many good horn players in Texas. But not too many teenage composers. Composition was never a passion. It came easy to me. I composed and still do compose because I have ideas and a lot of music in my head. And because people are always asking me to write music! Horn was my passion most of my life. As I turn 60, it is less so. However, most people think that I will be remembered for my compositions. 
 
 
As the horn is THE instrument of transposition in the classical repertoire, is it an advantage to be a horn player when writing scores for large orchestras? 
Maybe. I never thought about it. I actually write all of the voices in the ensemble in sounding C. Then when the score is set on the computer it is transposed into the proper key. It is true that I can read all the lines in all of the keys right from the page. Maybe that’s because of my horn transposition training?
 
 
What horn playing is bringing to your Art of writing music, and how your composer's eyes helps to understand our orchestral music? 
I enjoy writing for other ensembles as well. Not just horn. But in my career, it has been horn players who have commissioned me to compose and who play and love my music. People say my works for 8 horns and 12 horns sound “symphonic.” Maybe this is because I really want to compose for the orchestra. But all I have to my disposal are horn ensembles (ha ha ha). 
 
 
Your wife Kristina Mascher-Turner is also a horn player, this union is well known internationally as you are officially members of 2 popular ensembles: the American Horn Quartet and the Virtuoso Horn Duo. We can easily understand the good sides of having projects and travel together. Nevertheless, as this couple's artistic life is rather rare, are there some difficulties of negative aspects that most of us can't imagine?   
Kristina is incredibly easygoing. Every musician has their own way of coping with stress and performance situations. We have learned to leave each other alone before concerts. We have very different ways of preparing ourselves before concerts and even rehearsals. Playing duet concerts with her is a pure joy. She is a total performer and always delivers. One of the things she said to me when we first began performing together was “thank you for being so reliable on stage!” She is totally reliable as well. Believe it or not, for a long time, we used to get a bit nervous practicing in front of each other. But not anymore. 
 
 
In the 90's, I turned to you for asking for an encore piece, then came "La Entrada de los Caballeros" for solo horn. My question is about your composition process: do you prefer discussing with musicians or festivals about style, setting, length or rather feel totally free when concentrating on the main material of a creation? 
Good question. I prefer that the person commissioning me allow me the freedom to compose on whatever subject I desire. A few times in my career, the person commissioning me tried to get involved with the creative process. It was not good. And it was difficult to compose properly. A couple of times, the commissioning person tried to convince me to change a few passages (one notable time was on one of my most well-known works), and I always refuse. I will however change articulations and dynamics if the player wishes. I have nothing against that. Just not musical content. 
 
 
You just played recently your last concert with Luxembourg Philharmonic Orchestra. After 36 years there, is your mood more like attached to the group or more relieved and wishing for some new experiences? 
I am finished with the orchestra. Orchestra was always my worst discipline. I am relieved to be finished with the orchestra. The Luxembourg Philharmonic is a wonderful orchestra and very well managed. I just grew sick of it. I don’t like rehearsals! Concerts are great!
 
 
You are not regularly teaching in a Music School but you are giving masterclasses everywhere on the planet and taking part in competitions as a jury. During the last 30 years did you see the level of the young generations growing or more changing to some different abilities and qualities? 
When I was 18 years old, I played in a masterclass by Dale Clevenger. He told my professor that horn players were not playing at my level when he was young. Each generation advances the standard. And that is totally true. When I composed my many pieces for horn quartet, I never imagined other players would play them. They were written for the special abilities of the American Horn Quartet. But nowadays I have coached young teenagers playing some of my most difficult works. Also, the new talented players that we have hired in the Luxembourg Philharmonic are fantastic. I do not want to younger generation to play in a straight, perfect robot style. The pressure to get a position in an orchestra has caused many players to become sterile note machines. That is a danger. 
 
 
You know very well European countries, if destiny brings you to pass an audition somewhere else, which 2-3 countries could attract you the most to be based in?   
Vienna! Also Amsterdam. I think being a musician in Switzerland would be great. That would be a good place to be based in. 
 
 
Your brother Kyle Turner is a famous Tuba player. Are there some other musicians in your Family? Is Texas where you come from a state who likes Brass instruments?   
My brother Kyle was in the New York Philharmonic during the Kurt Masur years. He is professor at the Manhattan School of Music and Juilliard as well as a couple of other schools in New York. My older brother, Ken, was a very successful High School choir director and singer. My mother is a very talented pianist and soprano. And my father was a band director in Texas. And yes, Texas has a very large reputation for delivering brass players! In fact, one time during a conversation with Charles Putnam (AHQ), I told him that I wished I had been born and raised in Vienna. He thought that was nonsense. He said it was a huge advantage for me to grow up in Texas where the brass tradition is so high. 
 
 
Today you play a triple horn, when in your career did you decide to switch for it? 
When I joined the AHQ. I actually won my prize at the 39th Prague Spring Competition playing an Alexander 103 in 1987. But the colleagues in the AHQ recommended that I get a Paxman triple for our repertoire. You have many more possibilities, especially when playing extremely virtuoso music. 
 
 
CODA: What is the most important for us as leading players and teachers? Having many players including amateurs worldwide enjoying playing the Horn or more focussing on some few blessed Hornists who would keep the world dreaming?  
It is important to reach out and inspire all horn players, amateurs, young kids, retired players, bored orchestra members, students in music schools. The “blessed” horn players are already on the road to success. They find their own inspiration. And they get a lot of attention. I’m not too worried about them. Some of the young “geniuses” may need some psychological assistance though. 
 
 
KERRY TURNER NOVEMBER 2020
 
 
 
----------------------
 
 
 
Cher Kerry, tu es un des rares cornistes américains qui a opté pour l'Europe. Sachant que tu as étudié avec le Maître Baumann, es-tu arrivé dans ce but? 
Oui, j'ai écouté un disque 33T. de Hermann Baumann du Concertino de Weber à l'âge de 17 ans. Je fus immédiatement séduit et voulu aller en Europe pour étudier les concertos avec lui. À peu près 4 ans plus tard, j'ai écrit au Maître Baumann dans la perspective de venir en Allemagne pour travailler avec lui. Il jouait au Carnegie Hall de New York, où j'étudiais à ce moment. Je l'ai rencontré à son hôtel où j'ai pu auditionner.  Il m'a accepté. J'ai bénéficié de la bourse d'études "Fulbright" et suis parti pour Stuttgart où Baumann enseignait à l'époque. L'été précédent j'étais engagé dans l'orchestre AIMS du Festival de Graz en Autriche. Là je suis tombé amoureux de la culture européenne et de son style de vie. J'ai su alors que j'allais rester là. Je ne l'ai jamais regretté.  
 
 
Retournant régulièrement en Amérique depuis plus de 30 ans, parle nous des différences que tu notes dans la façon de faire le métier d'orchestre. 
Pendant longtemps l'école américaine des cuivres était orientée vers le répertoire d'orchestre. Le niveau de jeu là-bas est très élevé. On leur enseignait d'arriver "prêt" à la première répétition. Le temps coûte de l'argent et ce genre de concepts. Les orchestres sonnaient déjà bien le lundi matin. Si on remonte dans les années 80 et 90 en Europe, les orchestres répétaient une semaine durant, à raison de 4 ou 5 heures par jour pour préparer le concert de la semaine. C'est toujours comme cela. Aussi beaucoup de musiciens arrivaient sans avoir jeté un œil sur la partition auparavant. De nombreux autres ne connaissaient pas tellement le répertoire symphonique. À la fin de la semaine, les orchestres européens devenaient aussi bons que les orchestres américains. C'est surtout qu'en Amérique, ça n’avait jamais vraiment mal sonné et donc c’était plus agréable.  Jusqu’à tout récemment, les conservatoires en Europe se sont concentrés principalement sur le répertoire en solo. Ce n’est plus le cas. Les étudiants diplômés de l’école de musique à luxembourg sont très bien formés dans le répertoire orchestral. 
En outre, les orchestres européens étaient meilleurs chez les cordes. Et les orchestres américains avaient d'éminents cuivres. J’ai remarqué dans les années 90 que les pupitres de cordes des orchestres américains commençaient à se comparer aux sections européennes. Et les sections européennes de cuivres ont commencé à se comparer aux cuivres américains. Le résultat aujourd'hui est que les deux continents ont des cordes et cuivres fantastiques. Comme commentaire négatif, j’ai remarqué que les orchestres américains sont devenus tellement obsédés par la précision et la perfection, qu’ils manquent très souvent de style ou de panache. Ils ressemblent un peu à des orchestres robotisés. L’Europe a une petite tendance à faire la même chose. J’espère que les orchestres européens n’oublieront pas leur style musical et leur héritage.
 
Tu as la caractéristique d'être aussi compositeur, est-ce que cette passion a commencé aussitôt que ton attirance pour le cor? 
Je pense avoir été compositeur avant d’être corniste. J’ai commencé à composer à l’âge de 10 ans. Je n’ai pas vraiment commencé à jouer du cor avant mes 12 ans. Au lycée, j’étais intéressé par plein de choses. Mais j’ai composé beaucoup de musique et c’est ce qui a attiré l’attention des professeurs de musique. Il y avait beaucoup de bons cornistes au Texas. Mais pas beaucoup de compositeurs adolescents. La composition n’a jamais été une passion. Cela m'est venu avec facilité. J’ai composé et je compose encore parce que j’ai des idées et beaucoup de musique dans ma tête. Et parce que les gens me demandent toujours d’écrire de la musique ! Le cor a été ma passion la plupart de ma vie. À 60 ans, ce l'est moins. Cependant, la plupart des gens pensent que je resterai connu par mes compositions.
 
 
Comme le cor est L'instrument transpositeur par excellence, est-ce un avantage lorsque tu écris une partition pour un grand effectif d'orchestre? 
Peut-être. Je n’y ai jamais pensé. J’écris en fait toutes les voix en Ut. Ensuite, lorsque la partition est saisie sur l’ordinateur, elle est transposée dans la bonne clé. Il est vrai que je peux lire toutes les lignes dans toutes les clés à partir de la page. Peut-être que c’est à cause de ma formation de corniste?
 
 
Qu'est-ce que ta pratique de corniste apporte à l'art d'écrire de la musique, et d'autre part, tes compétences de compositeur te sont-elles utiles pour aborder le grand répertoire d'orchestre? 
J’aime aussi écrire pour d’autres ensembles. Pas seulement pour le cor. Mais dans ma carrière, ce sont souvent les cornistes qui m’ont demandé de composer et qui jouent et aiment ma musique. Les gens disent que mes œuvres pour 8 cors et 12 cors sonnent « symphoniques ». C’est peut-être parce que je souhaite vraiment composer pour orchestre. Mais tout ce que j’ai à ma disposition, ce sont des ensembles de cor (ha ha ha).
 
 
Ta femme Kristina est aussi corniste, votre vie de couple est connue de part le monde car vous jouez dans 2 fameux groupes que sont l'American Horn Quartet et le Virtuoso Horn Duo. On imaginera facilement les aspects agréables de travailler et voyager ensemble. Mais votre cas étant si rare, y-a-t'il des côtés plus difficiles auxquels nous ne pensons pas?
Kristina est incroyablement facile à vivre. Chaque musicien a sa propre façon de faire face au stress et aux situations qui arrivent en se produisant. Nous avons appris à nous isoler l'un de l'autre avant les concerts. Nous avons des manières très différentes de nous préparer avant les concerts et même avant les répétitions. Jouer en concert en duo avec elle est une pure joie. Elle est une authentique interprète et offre toujours le maximum. Une chose qu’elle m’a dite lorsque nous avons commencé à jouer ensemble, c’est « merci d’être si fiable sur scène! » Elle est totalement fiable aussi. Croyez-le ou non, pendant longtemps, nous étions un peu nerveux de chauffer l’un devant l’autre. Mais plus maintenant.
 
 
Il y a une trentaine d'années, je t'ai contacté pour te solliciter un bis virtuose pour cor seul. Tu as produit une pièce pour cor seul appelée "La Entrada de los Caballeros" . Comment rentres-tu dans le processus de composition? Préfères-tu t'entretenir avec des musiciens, des festivals, pour parler esthétique, durée, effectif ou bien souhaites-tu davantage ne pas avoir les mains liées quand tu poses les premières pierres d'un nouvel ouvrage? 
Bonne question. Je préfère que la personne qui passe commande me laisse la liberté de composer sur n’importe quel sujet de mon choix. À quelques reprises au cours de ma carrière, la personne qui m’a sollicité a essayé de participer au processus créatif. Ce n’était pas bon. Et c’était même difficile de composer. Quelques fois, le commissionnaire a essayé de me convaincre de changer quelques passages (une fois notoire était sur une de mes œuvres les plus connues), mais je refuse toujours. Je peux cependant changer les articulations et les dynamiques si l'instrumentiste le souhaite. Je n’ai rien contre cela. Juste pas sur le contenu musical.
 
 
Tu viens de faire ton dernier concert avec l'Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg. Après 36 années passées en son sein, te sens-tu encore proche de ce groupe ou libéré et déjà excité par de nouveaux projets? 
J’en ai fini avec l’orchestre. L’orchestre a toujours été ma pire discipline. Je suis soulagé d’en avoir terminé. Le Luxembourg Philharmonic est un orchestre merveilleux et très bien géré. J’en ai juste marre. Je n’aime pas les répétitions! Les concerts sont géniaux!
 
 
Tu n'enseignes pas régulièrement dans un conservatoire, mais tu donnes des Masterclasses partout dans le monde et participe à des jurys de concours d'interprétation. Durant les 30 dernières années, as-tu observé les nouvelles générations relever le niveau, ou plutôt démontrer des qualités différentes? 
Quand j’avais 18 ans, j’ai fait une masterclass avec Dale Clevenger. Il a dit à mon professeur que les cornistes ne jouaient pas à mon niveau quand il était jeune. Chaque génération fait progresser le standard. Et c’est tout à fait vrai. Quand j’ai composé mes nombreux quatuors de cors, je n’ai jamais imaginé que d’autres les joueraient. Ils ont été écrits pour les capacités intrinsèques de l’American Horn Quartet. Mais de nos jours, j’ai "coaché" de jeunes adolescents jouant certaines de mes oeuvres les plus difficiles. En outre, les nouveaux musiciens talentueux que nous avons engagé à l’Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg sont fantastiques. Je ne veux pas que la jeune génération joue dans un style robotique et parfait. La pression ressentie à obtenir une position dans un orchestre a fait en sorte que de nombreux interprètes sont devenus des machines stériles. C’est un danger.
 
 
Tu connais par cœur l'Europe entière. Si la vie t'avais mené à auditionner ailleurs qu'au Luxembourg, dans quels pays aurais-tu préféré demeurer? 
Vienne! Amsterdam aussi. Je pense qu’être musicien en Suisse serait génial. Ce serait un bon endroit pour vivre.
 
 
Ton frère Kyle est un grand tubiste. Y-a-t'il d'autres musiciens dans ta famille? Ta terre natale du Texas aime-t-elle les cuivres? 
Mon frère Kyle faisait partie du New York Philharmonic pendant les années Kurt Masur. Il est professeur à la Manhattan School of Music et à Juilliard ainsi que dans quelques autres écoles de New York. Mon frère aîné Ken, a été un directeur de chœur et un chanteur très éminent de d’école supérieure. Ma mère est une pianiste et une soprano très talentueuse. Et mon père était un directeur d'harmonie au Texas. Et oui, le Texas a une très grande réputation pour former de bons cuivres ! Une fois au cours d’une conversation avec Charles Putnam (AHQ), je lui ai dit que j’aurais aimé être né et avoir grandi à Vienne. Quelle ne fut sa surprise! Il m'a répondu que c’était un énorme avantage pour moi d'avoir grandi au Texas, où la tradition des cuivres est si prégnante.
 
 
Tu joues aujourd'hui un cor triple. Quand dans ta carrière as-tu décidé de passer sur ce type d'instrument?
Quand j’ai rejoint l’AHQ. J’ai en fait gagné en 1987 mon prix au 39ème concours du Printemps de Prague en jouant un Alexander 103. Mais les collègues de l’AHQ m’ont recommandé de m'équiper d'un cor triple Paxman pour notre répertoire. Cela offre beaucoup de possibilités, surtout lorsque vous jouez de la musique extrêmement virtuose.
 
 
CODA: Qu'est-ce qui est le plus important pour le corps enseignant, générer de nombreux cornistes même amateurs de part le monde, ou bien tenter de former quelques "élus des dieux" qui nous feront tous rêver? 
Il est important de tendre la main et d’inspirer tous les cornistes, les amateurs, les jeunes enfants, les pratiquants retraités, les membres de l’orchestre qui s’ennuient, les élèves des écoles de musique. Les cornistes « bénis » sont déjà sur la voie du succès. Ils trouvent leur propre inspiration. Et ils reçoivent beaucoup d’attention. Je ne m’inquiète pas trop pour eux. Certains des jeunes « génies » ont peut-être besoin d’aide psychologique.
 
 
 
 
KERRY TURNER, NOVEMBRE 2020
 
 
 
 
Kerry4
Kerry3
Kerry2
Kerry1

 

Kerry6
Kerry7 2

Kerry8 5

Kerry5

Image 11-11-2020 at 11

 

 

images-3
images-2

images-4

 

Image 11-11-2020 at 11

images
Kerry_Turner

download-3

05802636

download-2
download-1

images-1

Image 11-11-2020 at 11

images-5

IMG_5398

Image 11-11-2020 at 11

cb0a5f5c-d334-4e68-abbe-fbadf12e8d38

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 



27/11/2020
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 34 autres membres